Undergraduate Student Success

Task Force White Paper

Posted 1-21-11 | 41 pg


Student Forum on Strategic Planning

The Task Force on Undergraduate Student Success welcomes your input.Please see the following letter from the co-chairs to the campus community for more information:


Task Force Focus

The following questions are provided as a starting point for task force discussions and are not intended to limit the range of discussions.

  • How do we best prepare our graduates for life and work? How do we provide a comprehensive education for all students?
  • How do we provide the flexibility in education required in the future?
  • What opportunities will ensure a rich undergraduate experience inside and outside of classes (e.g., internships, research)?
  • Do we offer adequate and appropriate student support services for all students (e.g., online, out-of-state students)?
  • How do we improve students’ ability to achieve their educational goals efficiently?
  • How can we facilitate internal transfers and improve graduation rates?
  • What is our desired student profile (e.g., mix of in-state and out-of-state, qualifications)?


Task Force Members

Maxine Atkinson (co-chair)
Department Head, Sociology & Anthropology
College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Jo-Ann Cohen (co-chair)
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences

Marycobb Randall (co-chair)
Senior, Business Administration
College of Management

John Ambrose
Interim Dean
Division of Undergraduate Academic Programs

Sarah Ash
Associate Professor, Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

George Barthalmus
Director, NCSU Undergraduate Research
Division of Undergraduate Academic Programs

Lisa Bullard
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
College of Engineering

Kim Duckett
Librarian, Digital Technologies and Learning
NCSU Libraries

Kris Gower
Vice President, Inter-Residence Council
Junior, Business Administration
College of Management

Susan Grant
Director, University Housing
Division of Student Affairs

Tyrik Hicks
Senior, Chemical Engineering
College of Engineering

Louis Hunt
Vice Provost and University Registrar
Enrollment Management and Services

William Lamb
President, Union Activities Board
Senior, Communications
College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Carrie Leger
Director, Academic Support Program for Student Athletes

Rupert Nacoste
Professor, Psychology
College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Ingrid Schmidt
Director, Study Abroad Office
Office of International Affairs

Carrie Zelna
Director, Planning, Assessment, Research and Retention
Division of Student Affairs

Gil Zuckerman
Professor, Accounting
College of Management